Capt Amarinder Singh Announces Punjab Lok Congress’ First List Of 22 Candidates


New Delhi: Former chief minister and Punjab Lok Congress founder Captain Amarinder Singh on Sunday announced his party’s first list of 22 candidates for the upcoming assembly elections.

The former Punjab chief minister said all these candidates have strong political credentials and are well known faces in their respective constituencies.

Singh said out of 22 candidates – 2 candidates have been fielded from Majha, 3 from Doaba and 17 from Malwa region, ANI reported.

The former Punjab chief minister said that his party will contest 37 seats, adding the second list is likely to be released in two days.

Earlier on Saturday, Captain Amarinder Singh announced his decision to contest from his home constituency of Patiala Urban in the upcoming assembly elections.

“Will contest from Patiala, won’t leave my family’s home of 300 years. Will seek votes on my own government’s achievements & @narendramodi govt’s accomplishments at Centre.”: @capt_amarinder @plcpunjab,” the former Punjab chief minister’s media advisor Raveen Thukral tweeted.

Earlier in November, 2021, Amarinder Singh announced the launch of his party after he was asked to step down as the Punjab chief minister a month earlier by the Congress.

The Punjab Lok Congress will fight the Punjab Assembly elections in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiromani Akali Dal (Sanyukt) led by former Akali Dal leader Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa.

The alliance is, however, yet to announce its final seat arrangement.

Polling for the 117-member Punjab Assembly will be held in a single phase on February 20.

The counting of votes will take place on March 10.



(This is an auto-generated article from syndicated news feed. TEAM BEPINKU.COM may not have modified or edited the article).

About the Author: TEAM BEPINKU.COM

We share trending news and latest information on Business, Technology, Entertainment, Politics, Sports, Automobiles, Education, Jobs, Health, Lifestyle, Travel and more. That's our work. We are a team led by Mahammad Sakil Ansari.

You May Also Like