Center Calls Meeting Of 5 Parties On Monday Over Suspension Of MPs From Rajya Sabha


New Delhi: The Union government has called a meeting of five political parties on Monday whose MPs have been suspended from Rajya Sabha, news agency ANI reported Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut as saying.

According to him, the meeting has been called to break the deadlock between the government and the Opposition in the House as just four days remain for the culmination of the ongoing Winter session of the Parliament.

ALSO READ | Delhi Witnesses Concerning Surge In COVID Cases For 2nd Day With 107 Infections, Highest Spike Since June 27

Speaking to ANI, Sanjay Raut said that Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi has called a meeting of leaders of five political parties – Congress, TMC, Shiv Sena, CPI(M), and CPI whose Rajya Sabha MPs have been suspended. The meeting called by Center is scheduled to take place tomorrow at 10 am in Parliament Library Building.

“The Opposition leaders will meet in Parliament tomorrow morning to take a decision on taking part in the meeting called by the Government,” Raut further told ANI.

Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge has called a meeting of floor leaders from like-minded parties tomorrow at 9:45 AM in Parliament, ANI reported.

Taking to Twitter, CPl MP Binoy Viswam also confirmed that a meeting has been called for tomorrow. He wrote that CPI will take the final decision tomorrow on joining the meeting

“Opposition united is fighting the suspension of 12 MPs. Calling 5 parties for discussion at the fag end of the session is to divide the Opposition unity. CPI will not subscribe to it. Final decision will be taken tomorrow in the joined Opposition meeting,” Binoy Viswam tweeted.

12 Rajya Sabha MPs were suspended from the House on the first day of the Winter session of Parliament from five political parties including Congress, TMC, Shivsena, CPI, and CPI(M). The MPs who were suspended for the remaining part of the current session include Shiv Sena MP Priyanka Chaturvedi, TMC MP Dola Sen, Elamaram Kareem (CPM), Congress MP Phulo Devi Netam, Chhaya Verma, R Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain, Akhilesh Prasad Singh, CPI’s Binoy Viswam, TMC’s Shanta Chhetri and Shiv Sena’s Anil Desai.

After the suspension, all 12 MPs have been sitting on Dharna daily in front of the Gandhi statue in Parliament.

The Parliamentary Affairs Minister had earlier stated that the Center was ready to consider revoking the suspension of the MPs if they apologise for their conduct in the House. However, the Opposition leaders rejected the government’s proposal, saying that they would not seek an apology.

Recently, Rajya Sabha was adjourned several times due to the uproar in the Upper House by the Opposition parties demanding to revoke the suspension of MPs.

The ongoing Winter session of the Parliament is scheduled to culminate on December 23.

(With Agency Inputs)



(This is an auto-generated article from syndicated news feed. TEAM BEPINKU.COM may not have modified or edited the article).

About the Author: TEAM BEPINKU.COM

We share trending news and latest information on Business, Technology, Entertainment, Politics, Sports, Automobiles, Education, Jobs, Health, Lifestyle, Travel and more. That's our work. We are a team led by Mahammad Sakil Ansari.

You May Also Like