Congress Announces First List Of 8 Candidates, Ex-CM Digambar Kamat To Contest From Margao

New Delhi: The Congress party on Thursday announced the first list of candidates for the Goa assembly election slated to take place early next year.

As per the list of eight candidates announced, former chief minister Digambar Kamat is set to contest from Margao.

ALSO READ | Indira Gandhi Being Left Out Of ‘Misogynist’ BJP Govt’s Vijay Diwas Celebrations, Alleges Priyanka

The candidates selected by the Congress party’s Central Election Committee for the upcoming Goa Assembly election include Sudhir Kanolkar for Mapusa seat, Tony Rodrigues for Taleigao, Rajesh Verenkar for Ponda, Sankalp Amonkar for Marmugao, Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco for Curtorim, Digambar Vasant Kamat for Margao, Yuri Alemao for Cuncolim, and Altone D’Costa for Quepem assembly seat.

Last month, the state party president Girish Chodankar had said that a bulk of the nominees would be young and new. He had also iterated that MLAs who had defected and joined other parties will not be considered.

“The process of short-listing candidates for the Goa polls will gather momentum as the AICC has announced a screening committee for Goa. At least 70 to 80 per cent of Congress’ candidates will be young and new,” he said, as quoted by news agency PTI.

Elections are due in Goa in February next year.

Chodankar had said block committees of the party will be taken into confidence while deciding the candidates.

“More importance would be given to the candidates recommended by the block committees in their respective constituencies,” he informed.


(This is an auto-generated article from syndicated news feed. TEAM BEPINKU.COM may not have modified or edited the article).

About the Author: TEAM BEPINKU.COM

We share trending news and latest information on Business, Technology, Entertainment, Politics, Sports, Automobiles, Education, Jobs, Health, Lifestyle, Travel and more. That's our work. We are a team led by Mahammad Sakil Ansari.

You May Also Like