No Indian players in ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year as Babar Azam named captain


ICC Men's T20 Team of the...- India TV Hindi
Image Source : GETTY
No Indian could make it to ICC’s Men’s T20 Team of the Year, Babar Azam became the captain


  • Babar Azam was the best performer in the shortest format in 2021.
  • Babar scored 303 runs in 6 innings of T20 World Cup at an average of 60.60.

Dubai| The ICC on Wednesday announced the Men’s T20 Team of the Year in which not a single Indian could make it. Babar Azam was made the captain of this T20 team of the year. ICC announces the names of the best performing players in a year. Azam remained the best performer in the shortest format in 2021. He finished as the leading run-scorer in the T20 World Cup with 303 runs at an average of 60.60 in six innings. Overall Babar played 29 matches and scored 939 runs at 37.56 with one century and nine half-centuries. At the same time, his captaincy was also praised, as he led his team to the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup.

His opening partner Mohammad Rizwan, who has been named as the wicket-keeper in the eleven, did well in the shortest format of the game in 2021. Rizwan scored 1326 runs in just 29 matches at an average of 73.66 and a strike rate of 134.89. He was the third highest run-scorer in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

Australia all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, who scored an unbeaten 77 to guide his team to victory in the final of the T20 World Cup in Dubai, has found a place in the ICC squad. Throughout the calendar year, Marsh was Australia’s best batsman in the shortest format, rapidly improving his game at number three, scoring 627 runs in 21 matches at an average of 36.88 and taking 8 wickets.

The eleven announced by the ICC include Pakistan’s left-arm fast bowler Shaheen Afridi, England opener Jos Buttler, South African left-arm spinner Tabrez Shamsi, batsmen Aiden Markram and David Miller, Australia pacer Josh Hazlewood, Sri Lankan leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga and Bangladesh left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman have also been included.

ICC Men’s T20 Team of the Year: Jos Buttler, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Aiden Markram, Mitchell Marsh, David Miller, Tabrez Shamsi, Josh Hazlewood, Wanindu Hasranga, Mustafizur Rahman and Shaheen Afridi.

(With Bhasha Inputs)



(This is an auto-generated article from syndicated news feed. TEAM BEPINKU.COM may not have modified or edited the article).

About the Author: TEAM BEPINKU.COM

We share trending news and latest information on Business, Technology, Entertainment, Politics, Sports, Automobiles, Education, Jobs, Health, Lifestyle, Travel and more. That's our work. We are a team led by Mahammad Sakil Ansari.

You May Also Like