Smriti Mandhana Named ICC Womens ODI Cricketer Of The Year Awards 2021


New Delhi: India’s batter Smriti Mandhana has been adjudged as the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year winner for a phenomenal 2021 season. In a tweet on Monday, ICC announced India’s swashbuckling opener as the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

Hitting 855 runs in 22 internationals at an average of 38.86 for India with one century and five half-centuries to her name, Smriti Mandhana won the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

Mandhana was short-listed for the ICC annual award along with Tammy Beaumont of England, Lizelle Lee of South Africa, and Gaby Lewis of Ireland.

Mandhana made India’s first-ever pink-ball Test even more memorable by smashing her maiden century in the longest format.

The Southpaw was in overall good touch in the series against Australia, starting with the ODI series where she scored 86 in the second ODI. She compiled a brilliant century in the only Test and scored her second T20I fifty of the year in the final T20I, though India lost the series 2-0.

In the limited-overs series against South Africa where India won just two of the eight matches at home, Mandhana played a major role in both of the wins. She made 80 not out as India chased down 158 in the second ODI that helped them level the series and scored 48 not out in the win in the final T20I.

The 25-year-old played sublime innings of 78 in the first innings of the one-off Test against England that ended in a draw. She played an important knock of 49 in India’s only win in the ODI series. Her 15-ball 29 and fifty in the T20I series went in vain though as India fell short in both the matches and lost the series 2-1.

(With PTI Inputs)



(This is an auto-generated article from syndicated news feed. TEAM BEPINKU.COM may not have modified or edited the article).

About the Author: TEAM BEPINKU.COM

We share trending news and latest information on Business, Technology, Entertainment, Politics, Sports, Automobiles, Education, Jobs, Health, Lifestyle, Travel and more. That's our work. We are a team led by Mahammad Sakil Ansari.

You May Also Like