Rohit, Pant and Ashwin in ICC Test squad, but no Indians in ODI squad


File photo of Rohit and Rishabh Pant - India TV Hindi
Image Source : GETTY
File photo of Rohit and Rishabh Pant


  • Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant and Ashwin named in best Test team of the year
  • No player from India got a place in the ODI team for the year 2021
  • Veteran spinner Ashwin took 54 wickets at an average of 16.64 last year

Opener Rohit Sharma, wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant and Ravichandran Ashwin have been named in ICC’s Test team of the year as the only specialist spinners. But no Indian player has got a place in the ODI team for the year 2021. It is not surprising that none of India’s cricketers have made it to the ODI team of the year after they were not included in the ICC Men’s Team of the Year due to their poor performance in the T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). He played only six ODIs in the last year. Two players from Ireland have got a place in the ODI team.

Three India’s number one players in Tests, however, found a place in the longer-format squad, which has been captained by New Zealand’s Kane Williamson. India played a total of 14 Test matches in the year 2021, winning eight and losing three, including the World Test Championship final against New Zealand. Rohit, who was recently appointed as the limited overs captain in place of Virat Kohli, scored 906 runs in the calendar year at an average of 47.68 and with the help of two centuries. Rohit scored centuries against England at Chennai and The Oval. Pant, India’s first-choice wicketkeeper, scored 748 runs in 12 matches at an average of 39.36. He also scored a century against England in Ahmedabad. Apart from this, he also took 39 wickets as a wicketkeeper. Veteran spinner Ashwin took 54 wickets at an average of 16.64 and made a mark in the home series against England and New Zealand. Apart from this, he scored 355 runs at an average of 25.35, including a century against England in Chennai.

Apart from three India players and Williamson, the ICC Test squad includes Sri Lanka’s Dimuth Karunaratne, Australia’s Marnus Labuschagne, England captain Joe Root, New Zealand’s Kyle Jamieson and three Pakistanis – Fawad Alam, Hasan Ali and Shaheen Afridi. As far as the ODI team is concerned, the interesting thing is that there is no player from Australia, England, New Zealand and West Indies in this team. Babar Azam of Pakistan has been made the captain of the team which includes another Pakistani in the form of Fakhar Zaman. South Africa’s Jaaneman Malan and Rasi van der Dussen, Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman and Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasranga and Dushmant Chamira and Ireland’s Paul Stirling and Simi Singh have been included in the squad.

India played only six ODIs in the year 2021 and won four. In the meantime, he played two series of 50 overs. They defeated England 2–1 in the three-match series at home and then won the tour of Sri Lanka by the same margin. The absence of an Indian player in the ICC Team of the Year has meant playing fewer matches instead of a poor performance as India won both the series in 2021. Shikhar Dhawan was the only player to play in all six ODIs for India in 2021, scoring 297 runs in six matches. Batsmen like Virat Kohli, KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma played only three ODIs in the year 2021 and the same was the case with the leading bowlers who did not play all the six matches. Bhuvneshwar Kumar played in five matches in which he took nine wickets. To make it to the team of the year, you have to score points and perform impressively for that.



(This is an auto-generated article from syndicated news feed. TEAM BEPINKU.COM may not have modified or edited the article).

About the Author: TEAM BEPINKU.COM

We share trending news and latest information on Business, Technology, Entertainment, Politics, Sports, Automobiles, Education, Jobs, Health, Lifestyle, Travel and more. That's our work. We are a team led by Mahammad Sakil Ansari.

You May Also Like